Writing Difficulties

Posted: September 19, 2013 in Ramblings

Currently I am working on a small writing project, I am trying to write a story from a theme suggested to me by my dad, including a keyword. I won’t tell you the theme or the keyword here as I want it to be a surprise ! I will posting some of the work I do here on my page, look forward to it!

I wanted to talk to you all today about the problems I have found while working on this project. One of the main problems I have while I am writing is stopping the distractions – the internet, all the books I have piled up just waiting to be read and the cat. It’s very, very hard to ignore all these things going on around me and more than once I have, much to my dismay, given in to those desires. So, my new strategy is – get a routine going, everyday spend at least an hour a day at the library writing. I would like to do more than an hour a day but think that it is important to not push it when you want to get something done, I have a lot to do at home at the moment so need to make sure I use my time wisely. I have also given myself a deadline so that I have something to aim for, I have always done better with a routine with deadlines (I loved being at school and miss it quite a lot…) so I will make myself a timetable and keep to it. What do you guys do to keep to a deadline? Leave a comment on this post! 

Another problem I have while writing is going off on a tangent – not that it is a big problem really! I will just keep writing and writing until I am happy. But I find that when I come round to typing it up I will strike away a lot of it, as well as change the way it is set out and some of the words. It’s quite interesting to go back over what I have written just to discover that most of it is just rubbish, but that rubbish somehow creates a spark in my mind that helps me create something better. Something more interesting. Just having the outline written out on a page helps me get started with the detail. What do you guys think? Outlines are helpful or not?

Leave a comment